Author Archive for johanjacobs



Creating Google AdWords Reports

Google AdWords reports are used by advertisers to analyze there account metrics. It allows you to monitor the performance of your campaigns, ad groups, keywords and ads. In addition it allows you to identify important trends over time. This makes it easy to find area’s of low performance that needs to be optimized.

You can view your reports online or generate spreadsheets that you can download and analyze on your PC. You also have the option to have the reports automatically generated and emailed to you on a regular basis.

The report tab can be located in your AdWords account between the campaign management and analytics tabs. You can create different type of reports like, keyword performance, Ad performance, URL performance etc. You can set a data range for the statistics you would like to view in your report as well as the campaign or ad group.

The advance option section allows you to customize your columns and filter your report results. After selecting your advanced settings you can name and save your report. If you plan to reuse these settings for other reports you can save it as a template to reuse later. You can also schedule the report to run on a regular basis and email the results to you in a format you prefer. This allows you to monitor and detect changes automatically.

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Making your Ad text bold with Google AdWords

Only simple text is allowed when creating your AdWords text ads. Formatting options like bold, italicization or underlined are not provided for your text ads. Google AdWords will however make part of your ad text appear in bold whenever it matches or nearly matches a user’s search query. This can be achieved by adding the relevant keywords for a specific Ad Group in your ad text. Whenever the keyword triggers your ad it will also become bold in your ad text. This will catch the user’s attention and increase the likelihood of a click. Your text ad heading is the clickable part of your ad and placing the relevant keyword there will make it even more likely for a click. This can really give your text ad’s a performance boost.

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Google AdWords: Use a Relevant Landing Page

Very few site owners take the time to decide on appropriate landing pages for each of their ads. Most point their ads to their home page. It is just as important to spend time on relevant landing pages as it was on a relevant keyword list that described a unique aspect of your services or products. If the user have to navigate your site to try and find what he was looking for he will leave just as quick as he got there.

Directing your ad to a specific landing page that contains the same contend as described by your ad has proven to be mush more effective. In some cases it is even worth while to create a custom landing page that’s not in the normal navigation of your site. This page should then contain the relevant content that the user is looking for. For example it should answering the users question or providing a solution for his problem. It is also a good idea to add relevant links to some of your other products and services that the user might be interested in.

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Customize Targeting With Google AdWords

Customize targeting is for advertiser with an audience in a specific geographical area. Your ad will only appear to people searching for results in the area you define. You can target an entire region or alternatively only a circular region around a point in that region. This is particularly useful when you only want to target a specific distance around your business location. Customize targeting is the third location targeting option under your “target customers by location” options.

With customize targeting you have three options. First you can choose to create a circle around a physical address or secondly you can choose it around a point that you select on a map. The third option is to enter or select multiple longitude and latitude points on a map to form a multi sided shape or polygon that can cover any area you like. It’s important to note that the boundaries of your multi point region may never cross.

Once you have created your customize targeted campaign you can update and make changes at any time and as often as you like.

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How Google AdWords Targets Users

Your ads are targeted to reach a certain audience based on your chosen language and location targeting options. Google AdWords will then determine to show your ad based on the users Google domain, query entered, Internet Protocol (IP) address and language preference.

Google have over a hundred country specific domain extensions to which AdWords ads can be shown. The domain is the suffix attached to each web address for example Google.com for users in US, Google.es for users in Spain and Google.fr for users in France etc. Google also uses the location in the search query of the user to determine which ads to show.

Google can sometimes use the user IP address to determine his physical location. The users IP address usually get assigned by his Internet Service Provider (ISP) and are defined for a certain area. For example if a user in France uses the Google.com domain the user might see ads only targeted to France even though his not using the Google domain Google.fr.

The preference setting on the Google search page allows the user to set the language option in which he prefers to search. Google only displays ads targeted to that specific language option. If a user doesn’t specify his language preference, Google determines a default preference depending on the Google domain. For example the Google domain Google.fr will have a default language preference set to French. You must note that Google does not translate ads so if you write an ad in English and you target a Spanish user your ad will still appear in English.

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Controlling Your Spending With Google Adwords

Your advertising cost on Google AdWords gets controlled through your daily budget and bids. Google also rewards you if you have a high quality account. Making it worthwhile to optimize your account as time goes on.

You can limit the amount you spend in each of your campaigns with your campaigns daily budget. This is the most you are willing to spend per campaign each day. Google provides you with a recommended daily budget to allow you to get the most impressions possible, based on you setting and other statistical data. You can also choose your ad delivery method, standard delivery and accelerated delivery. Standard delivery shows your ad evenly through the day and may not shown your ad at every occasion. Accelerated delivery on the other hand shows your ad as quick as possible till your daily budget is met. If you’re daily budget is low with the accelerated delivery option your ad might just show during a small portion of the day. Google may even “over deliver” your ad up to 20% more than your daily budget allows on a given day, but will never charge you more for the month than you have specified.

Your bid is the highest amount you are willing to pay for a click on your ad (CPC bid) or 1000 impressions (CPM bid). The ad group bid is the default bid that gets applied when no bid is specified for a specific keyword or site. Bids can be applied to ad groups, keywords and sites. In a keyword targeted campaign you can also specify a preferred CPC bid. This bid specifies the average amount you want to pay instead of a maximum amount.

There are two ways in witch Google automatically reduces your cost. Google does this with the AdWords Discounter and “Smart Pricing”. The AdWords Discounter works all the time and reduces your actual CPC cost to be lower than your maximum CPC bid. It calculates the lowest CPC bid to maintain your ad position on a page. “Smart Pricing” also works all the time and reduces the cost of keyword-targeted clicks when you advertise on the content network. If the click is less likely to turn into a conversion, such as a sale or sign up, Google automatically reduces the price you pay for that click.

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Google AdWords: Actual CPC calculation

Your maximum CPC bid is different form the actual CPC paid per click and Google calculates it for each auction. The next example explains how Google calculates the actual CPC you pay for each click.

Advertiser

CPC bid

Quality score

Rank #

Position

CPC

A

$0.40

1.8

$0.4 x 1.8 = 0.72

1

$0.37

B

$0.65

1

$0.65 x 1 = 0.65

2

$0.39

C

$0.25

1.5

$0.25 x 1.5 = 0.38

3

$0.01

The table shows three advertisers running ads on the same page. Each advertiser has a different CPC and Quality score. The Quality score listed here are only for illustration purposes, this number is not visible in your account. The rank number gets calculated by multiplying the CPC bid with the Quality score. Advertiser A has the highest rank number. This means he gets position number one on the page. Next Google calculates how much to charge each advertiser for a click.

The actual CPC is the minimum amount needed to maintain a rank number higher than the next lower ad. This is one cent more than the amount that will result in a rank number that will cause the ad to appear in the next lower position. To calculate this Google divide the rank number of advertiser B with the quality score of advertiser A. The result is the actual CPC that would cause advertiser A’s ad to appear in advertisers B’s position ($0.36). Now Google adds one sent to put advertiser A’s ad in the top position. The same calculation is used to calculate the actual CPC for advertiser B. Notice that Advertiser A pays less that advertiser B for a higher position. This happens because advertiser A has a higher Quality score that advertiser B. Finally advertiser C only pay’s $0.01 because there is no ad appearing below it and Google simply charges the minimum bid for that keyword based on its quality score

If your keyword have a low quality score, Google sets a minimum bid for your keyword to enter the auction and trigger ads. If your CPC bid is lower than the minimum bid your keyword will be set to inactive. This means it won’t trigger any ads. The next example shows how Google calculates the actual CPC for as keyword with a low Quality score.

Advertiser

CPC bid

Quality score

Rank #

Position

CPC

A

$0.40

1.8

$0.4 x 1.8 = 0.72

1

$0.37

B

$0.65

1

$0.65 x 1 = 0.65

2

$0.14

C

$0.25

0.5

$0.25 x 0.5 = 0.13

3

$0.20

This example is the same as the previous one except for advertiser C with a low quality score of 0.5. Remember that a low quality score requires a minimum bid before a keyword can participate in the auction. In this case the minimum CPC bid for advertiser C is $0.20. Notice that because the rank number of advertiser C dropped the actual CPC for advertiser B was also been lowered.

To determine the position in witch your ads are likely to appear you can use the traffic estimator tool provided by Google AdWords. This tool only provides an estimate and may not match the actual performance of the ad.

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Google AdWords: Placement Targeted Campaigns

In a placement targeted campaign an ad appear on specific web sites selected by you. It also allows you placements for a desired topics or similar web sites. You can use Google’s placement discovery tool to generate a list of web sites based on topics or web sites you input. You can use the exclude web site tool to exclude web sites you do not want to show your ads on.

Placement targeting allows you to bid for your positions via a cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM). This means you will be charged if your ad appears on the content network regardless of if n user clicks on it. You also have the ability to choose a maximum CPM bid. This will be the maximum you are willing to pay per thousand impressions. The choice of a maximum CPM bid allows your placement targeting campaigns to compete against CPC biding campaigns in the same auction. If you are interested in promoting brand awareness CPM bidding allows you to reach more of your target audience by bidding for what is more valuable to you.

Placement targeting campaigns allows text and image ad formats, as well as animated image ads. Placement targeted ads always full the entire ad position and text ads will always be expanded to fit into the allowed space.

Placement targeted campaigns are for advertisers who wants more control over where their ads shows on the Google content network as well as those who want to promote a brand or new product to a specific audience. The animated ad format option also allows the advertiser to convey a larger message to its audience.

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Google AdWords: Best practices and things to avoid when creating a contextual targeted ad campaign.

Best practices when creating your contextual ad campaign:

  • Creating separate campaigns for contextual targeted ads,
  • Using the site exclusion tool to focus on sites matching your campaign goals,
  • Setting your bids at the ad group level,
  • Basing each of your ad group around a single theme,
  • Testing the different ad formats (text, video, image, gadget),
  • Pointing all ads in an ad group to the same URL,
  • Creating a short keyword lists for each ad group,
  • Using negative keywords,
  • Writing compelling and specific ads.

Things to avoid when creating a contextual targeted campaign:

  • Biding at the keyword level,
  • Using keyword matching options,
  • Using both singular and plural keywords,
  • Using a keyword list bigger than 50,
  • Using only one ad group per campaign,
  • Using generic landing pages for each ad group.
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Contextual Ad Targeting with Google AdWords

Contextual ad targeting enables you to show ads in the context of other sites, on pages contextually relevant to what you want to advertise. The Google content network comprises op thousands of high quality web sites, news pages and blogs. It is by far the largest network for contextual advertising in the world.

The Google Content network reaches over 75% of unique internet users in more than 20 languages in over 100 countries. Using the search and content network you will be able to reach 3 of every 4 unique internet users.

Contextual advertising with Google AdWords allows you to use all the different ad formats like text, image, flash, video, and gadget ads. The ad gets displayed on the basis of the theme in each of your ad group you create. The biding options are simulate to the search network campaign except that you can specify a CPM as well.

Google AdWords defines four phases in creating your contextual targeted ad campaign. They are as follows:

  • Define your campaign goals,
  • Create the campaign in AdWords,
  • Measure its performance,
  • Optimize and improve your campaign.
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